bread & butter pudding with croissants

bread and butter pudding with croissants

I love bread and butter pudding – when done well. I remember the lovely b&b pudding from Marche with the vanilla cream sauce – it was divine. I’ve had a number of various b&b puddings, but none lived up to the Marche one. However, the second time I went back for more pudding – it wasn’t the same anymore. So basically, I was probably just in love with the pudding center and crisp top.

I had two croissants in my fridge – buttery ones from Au Pain Dore. I had milk and eggs. I had no cream. Not wanting to run out just for cream, I googled for a recipe that had no cream and found this. I didn’t have the marmalade but I figured it would work anyways.

Stuff I changed:

– I doubled the recipe to fit a loaf pan since I had 2 croissants.

– I added 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg to the simmering milk.

– I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla essence to the egg and sugar mixture.

– I omitted the marmalade since I didn’t have any.

– I sprinkled some sugar on top of the pudding before baking (crispy top!).

– I used 2% milk and got away with it.

Result: The pudding was satisfying and not very sweet (because there wasn’t any marmalade) and not too rich. Next time round I would probably add some raisins in. That would probably help balance the sweetness. I didn’t make any sauce and the pudding was fine.

Recipe is definitely a keeper. Easy too.

Bread and Butter Pudding with Croissants

(taken from here)

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of white bread or 2-3 croissants
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbs caster sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk ( I use reduced fat)
  • 2 ts soft butter
  • 1 tbs orange marmalade (or any other jam you like – 100% fruit is best otherwise you might find it too sweet) (optional)
  • 1/8 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 deg C.
  2. Remove the crusts from the bread and spread one side of each evenly with butter (I actually left the crusts on this time because we had really yummy bread). Slice into quarters or whatever shape will work best for your baking dish. Layer into a greased ramekin or small baking dish. Make sure you leave lots of pointy edges facing up as these will get nice and crunchy. If using croissants, just tear up the croissants and layer.
  3. In a small bowl beat the egg, sugar, vanilla essence and marmalade together and set aside.
  4. Place the milk into a small saucepan and bring to the simmer. Add cinnamon and nutmeg. Once the milk is hot pour over the egg mixture, beating constantly to ensure there are no lumps.
  5. Pour the milk and egg mix over the bread and let sit for about 15 minutes to absorb. This will make the pudding lighter and not stodgy.
  6. Place the ramekin into a larger baking dish and pour enough hot water to come half way up the sides of the ramekin. Bake for approx 20 minutes or until the top is crunchy and golden and the pudding feels set. Allow to cool for a few minutes before digging in. It will firm up as it cools. Delicious!
Leave a Reply

