simple white bread

Originally posted: Nov 2010

olive bread

This is something I’ve always wanted to learn proper and master – baking bread. But since I don’t eat bread on a daily basis and am not crazy about it, it usually gets pushed to the bottom of the list of ‘things to try cooking’.

Recently I asked a friend for a basic bread recipe and he gave me this. A YouTube video from the authors of ‘Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day’. I went out today to buy the biggest ‘bucket’ I could find and proved my yeast to make sure it was working. I halved the recipe because I wasn’t sure the bread dough would rise in my current weather situation and also because my ‘bucket’ was only 3.1 liters. Anyway, the dough did rise…! I had no idea how to shape the bread into a boule though and just tried my best. And since I made 2 loaves, I mixed olives into one of them.

Anyway, I think it was a success first time round. I have to say making bread can be addictive too. Now I just have to cart home 5kg of flour since it’s on sale this week.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

