spinach and chickpea curry

Originally posted: Nov 2010

spinach and chickpea curry with yogurt and pita

So, according to a friend I’m on this low fat, low sugar, low fat, high fibre diet. I’m scared of turning into a ball because I am not exercising as much as I would like to. My daily exercise regime consists of walking to wherever I need to go. And I don’t go out every single day because it’s cold…gah! Oh, I should take a picture of the squirrels though. They are the ones turning into balls. But they have a legitimate reason for doing so, so that sucks.

Anyway, the last time I made Karen Cheng’s Spinach and Chickpea curry it turned out okay, but not that spectacular. I think it’s because I used another veggie instead of spinach. This time round I used spinach and boy was it good! I especially love it with some yogurt (all natural, unsweetened of course) and whole wheat pita. Yum! It also goes well with rice (use brown).

Spinach and Chickpea Curry

(taken from here)

Ingredients:

  • Half an onion, chopped finely
  • 2 tablespoons of oil
  • ¼ cup of bottled curry paste
  • 300mL of water (I usually omit this)
  • 400g can of chickpeas, drained
  • 1 cup of red lentils
  • 400g can of whole tomatoes, juice drained (I usually don’t drain my tomatoes and just omit the water)
  • 1 big handful of fresh spinach chopped, or a 40g portion of (defrosted) chopped frozen spinach
  • Basmati rice (optional)
  • natural yoghurt to garnish (optional)

Method:

  1. Heat oil in a pan, on slow medium heat cook onions for 5-7 minutes, until very soft and golden.
  2. While doing that, boil some water in another pot, and boil lentils for 10 minutes and drain.
  3. Stir in curry paste ad cook for 3 minutes.
  4. Add drained chickpeas, drained lentils, drained tomatoes and give it a good stir. I like to break up the whole tomatoes too. Add about 300mL of water. Turn up to medium-high heat. Cook for about 10 minutes.
  5. Add chopped spinach. Stir for 1 minute.
  6. Turn off heat, and serve hot with basmati rice, yoghurt and bright green vegetables. (I have also eaten this with naan, pita, bread, brown rice and quinoa)
Leave a Reply

