supernatural brownies

Originally posted: Nov 2010

supernatural brownies

I’m brownie-spired again! Anyway, if you know me well enough, there are two things that you will know – 1) When I cook a lot, I’m usually stressed and 2) When I am obsessed about a certain food, I will try out as many recipes as possible until I get it just right (according to what I’m looking for of course). I’ve done that for chewy chocolate chip cookies, brownies, cupcakes, macaroons and certain dishes. There was once I had 3 different types of chocolate chip cookies in the house. And of course I don’t eat them…just one or two. I’m not a big fan of baked goods – I just like to make them. So anyway, I still haven’t found the perfect brownie recipe, but have tried a few good ones. I’m still looking for my fudgy, chewy brownie. I had that once a few years ago, just a small piece and it blew me away. I haven’t had the same wonderful brownie since. Gah.

Oh wello, decided to make brownies for a dear friend who wasn’t feeling too happy. What better way to cheer one up than to have a brownie! This is Nick Magaleri’s recipe. His brownies are described as fudgy and moist. I decided to put in some effort and line the pan nicely with parchment paper. I used Hershey’s Special Dark and old-fashioned brown sugar. Will in the future use semi-sweet instead and also try and look for a darker brown sugar. That does make a difference. Just have to go search the supermarkets. Gah. Will be trying the Katherine Hepburn brownies soon. Apparently they are the chewy sort.

Nick Magaleri’s Supernatural Brownies

(taken from here)

Makes 24 brownies.

Ingredients:

  • 16 tbsp. unsalted butter, plus more for greasing
  • 8 oz. bittersweet chocolate, cut into 1⁄4″ pieces
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1⁄2 tsp. fine salt
  • 1 cup flour

Method:

1. Heat oven to 350°. Grease a 9″ x 13″ baking pan with butter and line with parchment paper; grease paper. Set pan aside.

2. Pour enough water into a 4-quart saucepan that it reaches a depth of 1″. Bring to a boil; reduce heat to low. Combine butter and chocolate in a medium bowl; set bowl over saucepan. Cook, stirring, until melted and smooth, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat; set aside.

3. Whisk together eggs in a large bowl. Add sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, and salt; whisk to combine. Stir in chocolate mixture; fold in flour. Pour batter into prepared pan; spread evenly. Bake until a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean, 30–35 minutes. Let cool on a rack. Cut and serve.

Leave a Reply

