white pizza

Originally posted: April 2011

unbaked white pizza

white pizza slice

I decided to attempt Amelio’s White pizza. But first, I needed to figure out what combination of cheeses they used since they don’t list it down on the menu. I did a search on the internet and it yielded a blogger who visited Amelio’s. He/She listed 5 cheeses – which I assume are the 5 cheeses used.

Feta, brick (or cheddar), Parmesan, ricotta, and mozzarella. Brick was on sale the other day so I knew it was a sign – white pizza!!!

Since white pizza doesn’t use any tomato sauce, a brush of garlic oil is needed on the pizza dough before laying on the cheese. I think I was overly enthusiastic so I did not calculate the cheese amounts. Basically bear in mind you are plopping FIVE different cheeses all with oozy, melty goodness, so it’s okay to skimp on each one. I kinda had a cheese overload (cheese was flowing everywhere in the oven). But everything turned out great in the end. The pizza wasn’t 100% identical to Amelio’s since the crust wasn’t the same, but it was good enough for me.

Leave a Reply

