tandoori chicken

tandoori chicken

A classmate of mine gave me a recipe for “North American-style” butter chicken. Basically, a butter chicken you could successfully make in North America because the ingredients would be readily available. The first step is to make tandoori chicken which is easy-peesy, as long as you can find the tandoori spice. If not, you can potentially mix your own. I found the tandoori spice at the ethnic grocer near my house. There was also a recipe for the tandoori chicken on the bottle. According to my friend, you can eyeball it, but she’s half-Indian and I am not, so I play it safe and follow the recipe on the bottle, which I believe can be used for any tandoori spice mix.

Tandoori Chicken

(recipe from Dunya’s Tandoori Masala)

Usually people use chicken breasts, but I decided to use drumsticks since it’s easier to portion out and serve, in my opinion. Also, I’m not a huge fan of chicken breasts because they have a high propensity to turn out dry.

Method:

  1. For 1kg of chicken, add 4 tablespoons of the tandoori spice mix and 6 tablespoons plain yogurt. The instructions also said to add 2 tablespoons of ginger-garlic paste. I didn’t have any on hand so I omitted that. Marinate for at least 2 hours.
  2. After marination, coat chicken with butter and roast on BBQ. I didn’t have a BBQ so I just popped the chicken in the oven for 25 minutes on 325 ° F. Squeeze some lemon on the top before serving.

_________

The chicken would probably be more flavorful if I had added the ginger-garlic paste. I ate the chicken with some palek paneer and bread.

Leave a Reply

