cranberry muffins

cranberry muffins

Post-Christmas/New Year’s holidays and I’m still working through leftovers. The ham is finally finished, now to tackle the cranberry sauce. I did a quick internet search and found various uses for the cranberry sauce – as a jam, in drinks, etc. Problem is, I already have a bottle of jam in the fridge and I don’t really drink sweet drinks. I will probably try and add it into my smoothies in the morning. Anyway, I decided to make some cranberry muffins. I couldn’t find any recipe that uses cranberry sauce/jam except for this variation from America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book. Their muffin recipe is also my go-to recipe when I need to use up large quantities of yogurt (which I happened to have in my fridge).

The batter for the muffins was really thick – more dough-like, and I started panicking thinking I was going to end up with a dozen of duddy muffins. However, I was pleasantly surprised when they turned out well – crisp on top, light (but not too light) and fluffy in the middle with a good ole’ muffin bite. Case in point, don’t overmix and don’t be scared of batter that is super thick. My batter was probably really thick because I used Greek yogurt.

cranberry sauce in between the batter

The muffins were fragrant and tasty – perfect for a snack or breakfast. They also were not too sweet.

Cranberry Muffins

Makes about 18-20 muffins

(Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book, p. 37-38)

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1.5 cups whole or low-fat plain yogurt (I used no-fat Greek yogurt, but I would recommend using at least a low-fat yogurt to give it more flavour)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) butter, melted and cooled
  • Cranberry sauce (20 teaspoons, one teaspoon for each muffin) (You can also use any type of jam)

Method:

  1. Adjust oven rack to middle position and preheat oven to 375ºF. Grease or line muffin tin.
  2. Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together in a bowl.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together yogurt and eggs.
  4. Gently fold yogurt mixture into flour mixture with rubber spatula until just combined.
  5. Add melted butter and gently fold in.
  6. Spoon 2 tablespoons batter into each muffin cup. Top with 1 teaspoon of cranberry sauce/jam for each muffin. Then top with 1 tablespoon of batter.
  7. Bake muffins for 25-30 min, rotating pans halfway through baking.
  8. Bake until golden brown and when a toothpick inserted into center of muffin comes out clean. Be aware that it might be moist because of the sauce/jam. Let cool for 5 minutes before transferring onto wire rack for cooling. Eat warm.
  9. Freeze leftovers.
Leave a Reply

