pasta with fennel, sardines, and currants

pasta with fennel, sardines, and currants

I love the flavor of anchovies, sardines and other small fish. The hubs on the other hand detests those flavors and smells. As such, I can only enjoy these dishes on my own and usually cook them when the hubs is away at work. I usually don’t make an extra effort to gather ingredients to make dishes like this pasta. I only cook them when I happen to have the ingredients around.

This dish usually happens when I have extra fennel lying around. Sardines, currants (or raisins, usually for baking), and onions are staples in my kitchen. Sardines usually come in a can and as such keep for long periods of time. I usually have a can or two for the days when I am alone and can enjoy them atop some toast with avocado. Sardines are also a good source of omega-3s and are a good weight loss food – so I’ve been told.

Pasta with fennel, sardines, and currants is a traditional Italian pasta dish. It usually also involves breadcrumbs and anchovies, but I didn’t have all those other ingredients on hand so I made do with what I had. There are also many variations of the dish but I decided to keep it simple…basically I was lazy.

The recipe below serves one – me, the lone eater of sardines in the house. 🙂

Pasta with Fennel, Sardines, and Currants

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • Pasta of choice, enough for one, cooked according to directions on the packet (I used whole-wheat spaghetti)
  • About 10-15 fennel slices (thinly sliced using a mandolin or knife), you can add more if you would like. You can save the top part of the fennel for garnishing.
  • 1/4 onion, diced OR one large shallot, diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon chilli flakes (optional)
  • 1/4 cup dried currants or raisins
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 sardine, from can
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Olive oil

Method:

  1. Cook pasta according to directions on packet. Drain and set aside.
  2. Heat oil in medium-sized saucepan, add onion and chilli flakes (if using) and saute onions till translucent (about 3 minutes).
  3. Add in sardine, and break sardine apart into small pieces.
  4. Add in fennel and saute for another 2-3 minutes.
  5. Add in currants and then the white wine. Allow wine to bubble and reduce.
  6. Stir in cooked pasta and season with salt and pepper, to taste.
  7. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

