in my pantry – veg, chicken and beef stock

I thought it might be good to share a little about what sort of pantry ingredients I use when I cook.

Stocks – chicken , beef, vegetable etc. are pantry or freezer staples. I use them often when making soups, stews, sauces, and even in dry dishes that need some “moisture. The most common stock I use is chicken stock. Growing up, my mother rarely, if ever made her own chicken stock. She usually just used chicken stock cubes or granules. Living alone in Montreal, I also used stock cubes until the hubs introduced me to concentrate. Concentrate tasted a lot better (at least many brands do) and in some cases, was a much healthier alternative to cubes. As such, I made the switch to concentrate. I used Trader Joe’s chicken stock concentrate and loved it. It wasn’t too salty and had a great taste. However, when it came to beef and vegetable stock, I either bought the ready made stuff or cubes.

A couple of months ago, I discovered Better Than Bouillon at Costco. We always passed it at the spice aisle but one day decided to give it a shot as it was much more economical to buy than the numerous packets of Trader Joe’s concentrate and packets of beef/vegetable stock.

Verdict? We LOVED it. The concentrate produced a clean and delicious tasting broth that wasn’t too salty. The best part is the ingredients in the organic range were natural and had no added MSG.

I now have a bottle each of the chicken, beef and vegetable stock and have been using it in my cooking for the past few months.

Better Than Bouillon Organic Chicken Stock

Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Stock

Better Than Bouillon Organic Vegetable Stock

Do I make my own chicken/beef/veg stock? Sometimes. I still save the bones from roast chickens or if I am de-boning a chicken before use. When the bag of bones gets full, I make some stock. However, I usually reserve homemade stock for dishes where the chicken stock is the star. A good example would be matzo ball soup. The same goes for beef stock. I have never made vegetable stock from scratch. One of the reasons why I don’t really make stock from scratch unless necessary is because it takes up precious space in my freezer – space I need for the other 101 things I freeze like butter, bread, quick meals, etc. I also still have some stock cubes on hand when cooking for large crowds. But I rarely use them now.

You can purchase Better than Bouillon at Whole Foods, Costco (some Costcos might not carry it), and online (Amazon carries it). Do note that I would only buy the organic version as the non-organic version has some stuff added to it that I don’t agree with…stuff I can’t really pronounce.

3 comments
  1. fred said:

    hey I was wondering which Costco you went to to get some Better than bouillon? I just went to Marche Central but could not find any there.

    thanks!

    • joylania said:

      Hi fred, I live on the West Coast of the US so I got my Better Than Bouillon there. If you can’t get it where you live, you can also try amazon.com or search for other online retailers.

Leave a Reply

