pasta with olives and breadcrumbs

pasta with olives and breadcrumbs

I am a pasta lover and am pretty adventurous when it comes to trying out new pasta dishes. I’ve never had this pasta dish before at a restaurant but was introduced to it on a cooking show. I can’t remember which cooking show it was, or maybe I had read about it somewhere. Regardless, I felt like making this dish. I originally planned to add some canned artichokes I had in my pantry. Turns out, I must have used up that can of artichokes to make spinach and artichoke dip, which is the main reason why I always have a can of artichokes lying around in my pantry. As such, I just made do with the olives and capers in the fridge.

This is a relatively simple dish to put together. The recipe calls for seasoned breadcrumbs, which I made by just combining some panko breadcrumbs with seasoned salt (Lawry’s). The hubs loved this dish and said it was definitely a keeper. The combination of salty olives and capers as well as crispy breadcrumbs struck a chord with him. However, if you like your pasta saucy, you might not be a big fan of this dish.

Pasta with Olives and Breadcrumbs

Serves 2-3

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pound linguine or pasta of choice
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, chopped finely
  • 1 cup seasoned breadcrumbs, toasted (I used 1 cup of panko breadcrumbs and combined it with 1 teaspoon of Lawry’s seasoned salt)
  • 1 cup green olives, pitted and diced
  • 1-2 tablespoons capers
  • 1/2 cup canned artichokes (optional)
  • Olive oil, for frying
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Shaved or grated Parmesan, to garnish (optional)

Method:

  1. Cook pasta according to directions on packet.
  2. Heat oil in pan. Saute onions for about 2-3 minutes. Add garlic and saute for another 1-2 minutes. Add in the olives, capers, and artichokes (if using) and fry for another 3 minutes.
  3. Add the cooked pasta and toss to combine. If it’s too dry, add in some pasta water.
  4. Add in the toasted breadcrumbs and toss to combine.
  5. Serve immediately. Garnish with Parmesan and season with salt and pepper, to taste. You might only need pepper as the breadcrumbs are seasoned.
Leave a Reply

