chicken macaroni soup

chicken macaroni soup

I was actually inspired to make chicken macaroni soup after helping my MIL (mother-in-law) edit one of her recipe posts for her blog. You can visit her blog about housekeeping and cooking here.

I love a good chicken macaroni soup and most children do as well. This is one dish where making chicken stock from scratch is somewhat essential though I have gotten away with using chicken stock cubes or concentrate. To make the stock, you first start by frying up a mirepoix (onions, carrots, celery combo). I decided to use my Nutribullet to finely chop the onions and celery. Unfortunately, I realized I do not have have a chopper blade, so my onions and celery were pulverized. Tip, use a food processor instead. I discovered that finely chopping the onions and celery allows them to release their flavors more “effectively” than just having diced onions and celery in the soup. It also results in a richer soup – yum! If you don’t want your soup so “cloudy” (I didn’t find it very cloudy though), you can always strain it using a fine mesh strainer or cheese cloth.

I cooked the broccoli and macaroni separately. To assemble, I placed some macaroni in a bowl along with the broccoli and then ladled the soup over along with a chicken drumstick or shredded chicken (whichever you prefer). I garnished the macaroni soup with fried shallots and spring onions. My MIL also suggested garnishing with fried bread cubes. I didn’t want to waste oil deep frying bread so I just toasted up some croutons in my toaster oven (white bread cut into cubes and sprayed with some canola oil). The croutons added a rich decadence to the dish but are not necessary.

Every time I eat this I am reminded of my childhood and warm and fuzzy memories of it always flood back!

Chicken Macaroni Soup

Ingredients:

To make the chicken stock:

  • 6 chicken drumsticks and/or additional chicken bones/parts (e.g., neck bones, chicken carcass of a roasted chicken, chicken feet, thigh bones, etc.) OR you can use half or a whole chicken, depending on how much stock you would like to make
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped (use a food processor, if possible)
  • 2-3 stalks of celery, finely chopped (use a food processor, if possible)
  • 2 carrots, cut into medium sized pieces
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1-inch piece ginger
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Vegetable oil
  • Water, enough to just cover the chicken in pot

Other ingredients:

  • Steamed broccoli
  • Elbow macaroni (or any shape you desire), cooked according to directions on packet
  • Other possible vegetables to add – cooked peas, corn
  • Fried shallots, for garnishing
  • Sliced spring onions, for garnishing
  • Fried/toasted croutons, for garnishing (optional)

Method:

  1. To make the chicken stock: Heat oil in pot. Add the bay leaf, onions, celery, carrots and garlic and fry for about 10 minutes until softened. Add in the chicken and ginger. Add in enough water to just cover the chicken. Be careful not to add too much water. Bring to boil and then turn down heat to simmer for at least an hour. You can continue simmering the stock if you would like it to be richer, but it should be ready after about an hour. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  2. To assemble: Place cooked macaroni, steamed broccoli and any other vegetables (if using) in a bowl. Pour chicken stock over. You can shred the chicken and add it into the soup or just serve the drumsticks whole. Garnish with fried shallots and spring onions. Enjoy hot.
Leave a Reply

