malted waffles

malted waffles

Since the hubs bought me a waffle iron I have been attempting different waffle recipes. I was trying to find an easy malted waffle recipe in an attempt to use up my malted milk. I also love malt in my pancakes so figured malt in waffles would be an excellent addition as well.

This recipe is easy and produces a very crisp waffle. It’s slightly on the darker side because of the sugars in the batter. This waffle would pair very well with ice-cream or as a dessert waffle. My comments are in red.

Malted Waffles

Makes about 10 waffles

(taken from Shutterbean; click here for recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup malt powder (I used Carnation)
  • 2 tablespoons firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 2 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 6 tablespoons salted butter, melted & cooled to room temperature

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees. I didn’t bother to use the oven to keep my waffles warm. Prepare waffle iron with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, malt powder, salt, baking powder & baking soda. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs, add the buttermilk and butter, now whisk again.
  3. Slowly fold the egg mixture into the big bowl with the dry ingredients. Mix just until combined. There will be lumps! Cook the waffles according to your manufacture’s instructions (my waffles usually take about 8 minutes). I used about a large ice cream scoop & a half for each waffles. Place finished waffles on the rack of your oven and continue to cook your waffles.
1 comment

Leave a comment